Synoptic Project – Creating a Cafe Chalkboard

Rather than having a sign outside the room of the cafe I had an idea of having one of those small chalk boards that include the name of the place as well as listing either the menu or the specials. Due to this my research images consist of this object but with a couple of different types.

Research.PNGThe creation of the asset was a little more complicated than expected due to making a mistake with the mesh at first. This was quickly resolved and I was happy with its look.

Mesh

I sorted out the UVs of the first side and then duplicated this. UV Check

I then combined both of the meshes.Complete Mesh

I think I did a really good job with the UV unwrapping. I took up almost all of the space that was given and the meshes unwrapped  very nicely.

UVs

For this I did source a chalk board texture from substance share but I also added my own chalk markings using the various brushes within substance. From the beginning I could tell that most of the detail in this model would come from the texture. This was the longest part of this model. Texture

From my research images I could see that the wood on these types of chalk board were fit together like a jigsaw. Due to this I added smaller details like this into the texture. I made it look as if there was a joint in the wooden frames.Other Normal Detail

I also added some normal detail the metal clips on the side of the mesh, so it did not look like it was just hovering. Normal Detail

I made sure to correctly name all of the alphas that I had created and put them into a resources folder in case I needed them on a later date.

AlphasI then stamped the alphas onto the menu board. When creating the chalk writing I made sure to use a couple of different fonts like in the reference images. I also made the name of the restaurant a red chalk so that it would stick out more than the rest of the information. I had a really fun time texturing this asset.
Chalk Detail

This was my substance render.Render

Leave a comment