Synoptic Project – Creating an Egyptian Vase

Me and Ben were having a discussion about parts of the rooms seeming rather empty. Due to this we discussed filling in some of the areas. We also got some feedback from the lecturers to possibly include more art / antiques in the scene. Due to this I wanted to create a small vase that could go on one of my pedestals. From my research I really liked the look of the Egyptian style so I knew this is the style I wanted to use for the texture.

Research

I messed around with a couple of different ideas for the shape and then I had noticed I had an asset from the synoptic project that could actually work in this scene. Only some small changes would be required to update the model and allow it to fit with the overall environment. The first thing I did was open the old Maya file and soften some of the edges so that the asset would look more rounded. I also merged the vertices at the top of the model so the vase looked sealed. Updated Mesh

Once I re-imported the mesh into the substance file it looked a lot more rounded and had the desired effect. One thing I actually really liked was the black and gold color scheme so I chose to not change this. I ended up spending a lot of my time for this asset creating different alphas that I could place onto the asset to create cool patterns that would fit with the style I was going for. I used the alphas in a mask and had the patterns be the same golden material as the edges. Texture 2Texture 3Texture

I really liked the look of this asset in the render. This asset will be imported into the scene before the MVP.Render

Leave a comment