Synoptic Project – Modelling a Bench

Research.PNG

When creating this bench I took into account of the reference images that we are using for the Art Gallery. I had noticed that the bench in the image below does not take up much room and is minimalistic in nature.  It is there to be used but to not take any attention away from the art.

Bench Idea

Using this original reference I was able to research into different types of bench and find one that I liked the look of. I had looked at a few different images of benches and narrowed it down to two. I liked the idea of how simple the concrete bench was however I preferred how modern the bench on the left looked.

ref 3

Using this bench I was able to find a website that had the measurements, so I used these as a reference of what sort of size I will go for. This will give me a nice ration of size and if it needs to be a little bigger in engine it can be easily up-scaled.

Reference Measurements

I then began to create the mesh for this object, at first I had a little trouble creating the legs as I was not 100% sure on how to do this; I ended up using a Boolean.

Bench Mesh

I then UV unwrapped the objects and combined them. This was surprisingly much more simpler than I had first expected. UVs

I added the checkers to make sure the texture would not be distorted and the UVs were done correctly.UV Mesh

Once this was done I was able to begin texturing in substance painter. I created two different textures. One with a wooden seat and one with a concrete seat. The reason I chose to create a concrete one was because I wanted to take some inspiration from my other reference image. However I asked Ben which he thought would fit more in with the overall theme and he said the wooden bench and I agreed with this.Texture 2Texture 1

Due to choosing the wooden bench I was able to begin working on adding detail to the texture to make it look a little more realistic. As the Art Gallery is supposed to go for a modern look I chose to leave the bench looking pretty clean as if it had been well looked after or if it was brand new. However Ben gave me a tip to darken the edges of my models to add to the realism so I did this. Render

Leave a comment