Imagine Worlds – Flashlight

Just like the barrels this is another old asset that I had created for an old project in the first year however this mesh had not been UV unwrapped at all and the mesh was a little bit messy, due to this I started by cleaning up the object by remove necessary edge loops to reduce the poly count. I also softened the edges to make the mesh look more rounded and less sharp.

flash1

Once the mesh was cleaned I began to UV unwrap the object as all it had been automatic unwrapped before this and none of the edges were sewed together. The layout of the UVs vastly improved.flash2

I then began to work on texturing the torch within substance. For the base material I went for a matte plastic that looked a little worn with different marks across it to show it was old and had been used previously. There was also some dirt added as torches are the stereotypical item that someone would use while camping. On many different reference images I was looking at the torches had grips on the handle. Due to this I looked for a different rubber grip material and I placed this onto the torch. I added a mask to the plastic and began to rub away the areas that would have the grip. I also added this material to the button that is used to turn the torch on and off, I did this because these sorts of materials are usually found on torches that have a button rather than a switch.

flash 3

I had also added some glass to the front of the torch as well as adding some emission to the bulb.

Render1Render 3Render 2

Leave a comment