VFX Final Project – Submission

My final VFX project had many different ideas over the course of it being made, originally I wanted to do something with portals however many other people had this idea so I decided to change it up, I then began to create my storyboard and rather than just having one short 7 second clip I chose to make a mini story using two different characters played by Kurtis.

The clip opens with a thief stealing a crown from a museum and replacing it with a picture of the crown, he then wakes up the security guard and tell him to stop, the thief then proceeds to grab a smoke bomb / magic ball out of his pocket which he uses to escape. The security guard it then left confused.

I used a few different techniques to put all of this together, I used after effects to create the project. Below is a list in order of what visual effects went into my project.

  • Black and White colour change
  • Projector style film overlay
  • Keylight on the green screen which was replaced depending on the scene
  • The crown being wiped out and the picture appearing
  • Thought cloud overlay on security guard which becomes opaque.
  • The smoke / tornado
  • The main footage is then linear wiped so the thief has disappeared.

There are also some other minor tweaks to the background that are not worth noting separately.

The scene ended up being around thirty seconds long and I am pretty proud of the result as this was my first attempt at a proper vfx scene. The idea to add the old fashioned look also came on near the end of the development as before I added it, the scene looked pretty plain and boring and now it has a unique feature. The lack of sound effects also now makes sense as its supposed to look like a silent movie.

Leave a comment