Maya Space Project – Bench

Today me and a few friends decided to begin to work together on a spaceship environment after we went to see Alien: Covenant. We have created an assets list within a google drive and are gonna begin to develop multiple assets for this environment. I began by creating a pretty simple bench that looks like it belongs in space. I started by creating all of the separate shapes that would make up the bench, this was so they were easier to UV unwrap. Once this was done I began to UV unwrap and texture the model.

I used this as an excuse to revisit some practices that I used primarily at the beginning of the year, I used the checkerboard to make sure that each face was relative in size with each other.

UVs

I think that my UV management was very nice and clean which made it very easy to apply the textures. Uv layout

The colour scheme that was chosen was white grey and red, this is because these are nice clean colours and they go well together. The space station that were are creating will have a clean look about it rather than old and worn.

So far

This is what the bench looked like once the textures were applied and the shapes were put together. At this time I am not sure if I will revisit the texture to add more scratches into it or leave it looking cartooned. I will also be adding some normal maps to the bench to add extra detail into it.

Done Kinda

Leave a comment