Robot Ident – Improvements

I had finished the Robot Ident a couple of months ago now but looking back on it I thought it looks pretty plain overall. However rather than going back and changing the animation I chose to import it into after effects to give a new tool a try. I had recently seen some music videos use a sketch sort of look and have lines appear over the footage; this is where I have taken inspiration from. Whenever anything in the scene moves quickly I have added lines to make it look more animated and to add emphasis to the movement of the robot and the domino. It’s a very small change that did take me a while as I had to go through frame by frame, but overall I think it makes the animation look more alive, it also helps me hit more criteria of the 12 principles.

Doing the lines themselves was not that complicated. All I had to do was open up the video as its own layer within After Effects and open up the “Paint” window. I then made it so what I painted only lasted a single frame. This allowed me to change the lines on every so it wasn’t just the same pattern over and over again but instead every frames paint was unique.

Leave a comment