Room Project Part 2 – Table and Bookshelf

Following from the work I had done in the previous days I began to create some more objects to fill my room that would still fit to the theme that I was trying to maintain. The first thing that sprung to mind was a table as this could be the center piece of the room that is in the middle that could have different items on it such as plates and jugs.  The first part of the table I created was the top, due to its simple nature this was just a rectangle, but for its texture I conjoined three textures together; The under, the edges and the center of the table. Overall I was pretty happy with how the table turned out. I tried to make the legs look like they were simply tree trunks whereas the table top was supposed to look more man made.

UVs –

Textures –

Object with texture – table-in-roomtable

The next object I created for my room was a book shelf, I created this in numerous steps. Firstly I created a simple rectangle shape with a beveled edge which would be the book. I then UV unwrapped this book and created numerous textures using the same object. The books ended up looking alright as they were just a small piece to compliment a bigger object they did not need to be too detailed. I then created a larger rectangle shape which I placed a texture on that was an image of a collection of books. This was to make one of the shelves look full whereas the bottom shelf would look a bit empty allowing me o rotate the books and make it look more realistic. For the shelf I created three different objects. The shelves themselves, the back board and the sides. For the sides I used a detailed wooden texture as this was the part of the shelf which is most seen, for the shelves I used a wooden plank texture and for the back I used a rough looking wood. This allowed me to add more depth to the object by making it look like all three parts were made in different ways rather than having the whole thing be one texture. Overall I am pretty happy with how this turned out.

Bookshelf UVs –

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bookshelf Texture –

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Book UV & Textures –

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a comment