Low Poly World

Once we had completed our animations within Maya the class was given a new task, this was to get into groups and create an area of a race track using low polys, once we were put into groups everyone was tasked with creating different components that would make up the area. My main model would be the terrain. I created this using a cube and extruding it into shape, I then laid out the UVs and textured it in Photoshop. I did shading from top to bottom however still used solid colours; this is because solid colours compliment the low poly style. I did this last week however I had not blogged about it. Today I began to create different assets that could go into the area. I created, A mountain, winter trees, pipes, water, ice, a walkway, a wind turbine and a fence. I have had a very productive day with this project, low poly is quite an interesting concept as models are simple to make however they end up looking really cool. The only asset i struggled to create was the mountain as it had a layer of snow on top that took me a couple of attempts to get right.

Water & Ice –

water-n-ice

Walkway –

walk-way

Fence –

fence

Winter Trees –

trees

Mountain –

mountain

Pipes (Inspired by Mario) –

Wind Turbine (I chose to animate it) –

Area so far (Rendered in TURTLE) –

Render.png

 

 

 

Leave a comment