Maya – UV unwrapping

Today I was tasked with using an already created ship and UV unwrapping this. This is the first step that is required before we can begin to texture the ship. It requires us to select all the different faces and then put a checkered pattern on them. Once this was done I had to group the different parts of the ship together and UV unwrap these. For example I had to do the under side of the wing separate to the top of the wing because if not there texture would become stretched. Once the underside of the wing was selected I had right right click while holding alt and click ‘Planar map’. This would then allow us to move the selected faces. Once this was done I had to select UV’s and unfold the faces so that the texture fit them correctly. Once multiple components of the ship were done they could be sewed together so that there wasn’t loads of different checkered patterns around the model.

Leave a comment