Flash Games Testing – Super Hexagon

As a research task I had to play a flash based game, the game I chose to play was one I was more familiar with called Super Hexagon, this is a PC game and it was also ported onto mobile devices such as touch screen phones and tablets. The game is simple which I think makes it more appealing. It uses simple shapes such as hexagons and rectangles and these are randomly generated as the user progresses to make it harder for them to get a high score. The objective of the game is to dodge the incoming walls and the scoring system is based off the amount of time you have survived. I don’t think I can really fault this game due to the simple nature and how addictive it is. Ever time I fail I want to try again to get a higher time than I did last time. The game never ends however when 60 seconds is reached on a level you can progress to a harder difficulty to try your luck on that. There is 6 levels in total and the first level is hard difficulty, this shows the game is challenge from the moment you pick it up. However with practice you do improve. If the games art style was not as simple with its use of shapes and flashing colour I do not think it would be as fun to play. Other than just the visuals and gameplay the audio is also a key aspect in this as it has a song that fits perfectly with the pace of play and the type of game it is. hexagon-flash-game

Leave a comment