Drawing – Adventure Time

Today I was learning different types of drawing techniques and we also looked into how 2 dimensional characters are not as simple as they look. For an example I was shown a snippet from the cartoon TV show Adventure Time. From this we could look into how these different characters were drawn. Even though the main character Finn looks flat his character is still made up from circular shapes and cylinders to give him the 3 dimensional effect. Using this technique we had to adapt our own character to the drawing style so I chose captain America. I started by drawing the different circles where the character would bend slightly. From this i began to draw the outline of the character in a more thick pencil line. Once I had the basic shape I could start adding different details such as his eyes and his mouth. Once I had the character lined out the detail could be added and the sketch marks could be rubbed out. adventure-time

Leave a comment